top of page

New Children's Books to Dive Into This May 2024


New Children's Books to Dive Into This May 2024

Attention, young bookworms and adventurers! Get ready to embark on unforgettable journeys, unravel perplexing mysteries, and discover enchanting new worlds with these six incredible children's books releasing in May 2024. From mythological quests and time-bending twins to autistic superheroes and football-loving underdogs, these captivating stories cater to a wide range of interests and reading levels.


Prepare to be whisked away to the Under-Underground in Ash Bond's "Peregrine Quinn and the Cosmic Realm," where a brave 12-year-old girl navigates a realm filled with mythological characters. Delve into the mysterious world of Michelle Harrison's "Twice Upon a Time," where identical twins with unique abilities race against the clock to solve a disappearance (or murder?). Follow the fierce and outspoken Keedie in Elle McNicoll's prequel to "A Kind of Spark," as she fights against bullies and stays true to herself as an autistic teenager.


Experience the ups and downs of family life, friendship, and football in Manon Steffan Ros' "Me and Aaron Ramsey," and join Juniper Green on a thrilling ecological adventure in Nicola Penfold's "When the Wild Calls." Finally, unravel the gripping mystery of a missing brother in Dev Kothari's debut novel, "Bringing Back Kay-Kay," set in a small village outside of Mumbai.


These six books not only offer entertaining and engaging stories but also tackle important themes such as empathy, resilience, mental health, and the power of love and family. With a diverse range of characters and settings, these books are perfect for young readers looking to expand their horizons and explore new perspectives.


So, what are you waiting for? Dive into these incredible new releases and let the adventures begin!


Peregrine Quinn and the Cosmic Realm by Ash Bond

Peregrine Quinn and the Cosmic Realm by Ash Bond

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Who Let the Gods Out?, this action-packed fantasy adventure follows 12-year-old Peregrine as she navigates the Under-Underground alongside mythological characters. Bond's confident and brave protagonist, coupled with a cast of comedic side characters, makes for a delightful read. While some knowledge of Greek mythology is helpful, it's not necessary to enjoy this tale of mystery and adventure. Best suited for confident upper Key Stage 2 readers.


Pre-order this book on Amazon









Twice Upon a Time by Michelle Harrison


Twice Upon a Time by Michelle Harrison

Twins who can stop time to solve mysteries? Yes, please! Harrison's delicious combination of mystery and fantasy will keep readers on the edge of their seats. With a disappearance (or murder?) to be solved and the ability to see back and forward in time, these identical twins with distinct personalities are sure to captivate. The villain, reminiscent of a James Bond nemesis, and the setting of an old house with secret rooms and a fire-damaged wing, steal the show. This book is perfect for young mystery lovers who crave a touch of magic.


Pre-order this book on Amazon











Keedie by Elle McNicoll

Keedie by Elle McNicoll

A prequel to McNicoll's best-selling novel A Kind of Spark, Keedie focuses on the fierce, outspoken big sister from the original story. Set five years earlier, readers follow Keedie as she navigates life as an autistic teenager while staying true to herself. Keedie's quest for revenge against school bullies, not just for herself but for others, is honorable but creates a divide between her and her twin sister. McNicoll develops Keedie's character with nuance and depth, making this a must-read for fans of A Kind of Spark. Perfect for developing empathy and a sense of self in upper Key Stage 2 readers.


Pre-order this book on Amazon










Me and Aaron Ramsey by Manon Steffan Ros


Me and Aaron Ramsey by Manon Steffan Ros

While football is at the heart of this story, Me and Aaron Ramsey offers so much more. Sam, obsessed with football and Aaron Ramsey from the Welsh national team, lives with his family in a household strained by financial difficulties and his father's secret illiteracy. When Sam's dad, Huw, is signed by a local club, things look up, but a tragic injury cuts his career short, plunging the family into despair. Sam's escape is through Aaron Ramsey videos, until a friend and a Wales vs. England game offer hope. With themes of anxiety, friendship, bullying, resilience, mental health, and educational struggles, this story has something for everyone, football fan or not.


Pre-order this book on Amazon







When the Wild Calls by Nicola Penfold

When the Wild Calls by Nicola Penfold

In this compelling sequel to Where the World Turns Wild, Juniper Green and her brother Bear have settled in Ennerdale with their dad after escaping the city. But when disease enters the city, Juniper is determined to bring her grandmother and best friend to safety. Meanwhile, Etienne, trapped in the diseased city run by a ruthless leader, longs for the Wild and is prepared to fight for his freedom. This thought-provoking ecological adventure is perfect for fans of The Last Bear, Running on the Roof of the World, and The Last Wild.


Pre-order this book on Amazon








Bringing Back Kay-Kay by Dev Kothari


Bringing Back Kay-Kay by Dev Kothari

Winner of the Commonword Diversity YA novel in 2018, Dev Kothari's debut novel draws from her experience growing up in a small village outside of Mumbai. This gripping mystery, aimed at the middle-grade market, follows Lena as she searches for her missing older brother, Kay-Kay. Realizing how much Kay-Kay has always been there for her, Lena vows to help find him. Touching on the shocking statistics of missing children in India, as well as issues like depression, poverty, and runaways, this story is most suitable for upper Key Stage 2 and beyond. A tale of love for India, family, and sometimes even those who seem least deserving, Bringing Back Kay-Kay is a must-read.


Pre-order this book on Amazon







These six new children's books offer a diverse range of stories, characters, and themes that will captivate young readers and keep them turning pages well into the night. Whether they're into mythological adventures, time-bending mysteries, autistic superheroes, football underdogs, ecological quests, or gripping family dramas, there's something for every young bookworm to enjoy this May 2024. So, head to your local bookstore or library and dive into these incredible new reads – you won't be disappointed!


FAQ:

  1. Q: What age group are these books suitable for? A: The books cater to a range of reading levels, but most are best suited for upper Key Stage 2 readers (ages 9-11) and beyond. Some, like "Bringing Back Kay-Kay," may be more appropriate for slightly older readers due to the themes explored.

  2. Q: Do I need to have read "A Kind of Spark" before reading "Keedie"? A: While "Keedie" is a prequel to "A Kind of Spark," it can be enjoyed as a standalone novel. However, readers who have read or watched the CBBC adaptation of "A Kind of Spark" will have a deeper appreciation for Keedie's character and her role in the original story.

  3. Q: Are these books suitable for reluctant readers? A: Yes! These books offer engaging storylines, relatable characters, and exciting adventures that can help draw in reluctant readers. The diverse range of themes and genres ensures that there is something to capture the interest of even the most hesitant young bookworms.

  4. Q: Do I need to have prior knowledge of Greek mythology to enjoy "Peregrine Quinn and the Cosmic Realm"? A: While some familiarity with Greek mythology can enhance the reading experience, it is not necessary to enjoy the book. The story is accessible to readers with varying levels of mythological knowledge.

  5. Q: Are these books available in multiple formats? A: Yes, these books are available in various formats, including hardcover, paperback, eBook, and audiobook, ensuring that young readers can enjoy them in their preferred format.

  6. Q: Where can I purchase these books? A: You can find these books at your local bookstore, online retailers like Amazon and Bookshop, and through the publishers' websites. Be sure to pre-order your copies to be among the first to dive into these incredible stories when they release in May 2024!

Comments


bottom of page